The Anglican Cathedral of Second Life

How do you run a bible study in Second Life?

7 Comments

sophia-tulip.jpgHow do you run a bible study in Second Life?

Sophia Tulip who runs a Bible Study each week shares her thoughts:

One Sunday, at the Anglican Cathedral, Arkin asked the congregation if people would like to be a part of this growing community and I immediately thought that I would like to facilitate a bible study. Since October 21, 2007, I have been leading a bible study, which is amazing because I had no idea how this could be achieved; I had no experience in leading a virtual world bible study. So, I went searching on the internet and found different resources, and I went for simplicity. I found a really good resource at www.episcopalchurch.org. It has a section called Lesson Plans for Small Congregations and it is based on the Revised Common Lectionary gospel reading for that Sunday. From the website www.biblegateway.com I use the New International Version for the scripture. I cut and paste the lesson plans and the scripture into a note card, and distribute that to participants by means of a note card dispenser.

The preparation is the hardest part of running a virtual bible study. The participantsbible-study.jpg make it easy. Participants vary in knowledge from basic surface knowledge to people with strong biblical knowledge, and they come with fresh ideas about the scripture. Different viewpoints are expressed and no one tries to force their beliefs or values on others, which I think helps make this group work. I was worried that after I asked questions, there would be an awkward silence (thank goodness that rarely happens), but people chime in and ask questions. The insight that they have has really helped me learn more about scripture. The study pretty much runs itself, so I am more of a participator than a leader. I have enjoyed it and am glad that this ministry is available in Second Life.

Author: Mark Brown

CEO of The Bible Society in New Zealand.

7 thoughts on “How do you run a bible study in Second Life?

  1. Pingback: The Watch - virtual worlds in the news - The Creative Shed

  2. hi Carole!

    If you want to try out Second Life, you can get more info about the program, and download it at http://secondlife.com/whatis/.

    And let us know if you do, so we can show you around😉

  3. Wow, what a great idea! Sitting here in South Africa wondering if I can get something like this going. What software/online programme do I need to get something like this started. I’m clueless but eager to know more.

  4. Interesting. Didn’t know that I could attend bible study without leaving my couch. However, I wont be there because I think the bible is nothing other than a man made collection of mythological stories.

  5. I wanted to share with people what a blessing the SL Bible studies at Epiphany have been for me. RL commitments have recently changed which has prevented me from attending – and I have genuinely missed the discussions! When able to attend I found that the quality of discussions, what people attending brought, was excellent.

    Bless you Sophia for your sensitive leadership
    Able

  6. TY so much Anne!…Cady put in new chairs:), so we now have more room.
    Pax,
    Sophia

  7. Sophia does a wonderful job keeping things organized! I can’t attend every week, but when I do get there, it is a great hour. The questions are thought provoking, but not intimidating (thus the lack of awkward silences!) I do have one complaint: that there are not always enough chairs!

    Keep up the good work, Sophia!

Leave a Reply

