The Anglican Cathedral of Second Life

What a week!

3 Comments

 It has been an amazing week for the Anglican Community in SL with a number of huge steps taken forward . God is awesome!!! May God be glorified through this. The first bit of news is that we now have leaders for each of the three services catering for the major timezones! Plus there is a possibility that we might also run a service specifically aimed at the Goth community, and we are also exploring offering regular evening prayer. So the Cathedral will be a hive of activity! I will post more detail of the leadership soon. Right now we are sorting out the technical aspects and creating animations. We hope to start the services in the couple of weeks.

Also I met with my Bishop, Tom Brown from Wellington Diocese and he expressed that upon my ordination in Nov, he would be happy to formally recognize this ministry within SL! This is very cool!new-meeting-area.jpg

And our amazing builder Monty is well on the way to completing the building that we will use for Bible Studies and meetings; including a virtual office for me!! (see image.)

And the final bit of news is that I have decided to include my birth name on screen for all to see (click on image twice to see). I will also be changing my character to look like the real me.

Within SL, the spectrum ranges from those who are pure role players and see SL as a game, to those who see it as an extension of there lives. My view is that SL is an extension of my life. I see SL principally as a platform for doing ministry. Ministry within SL to the growing community of SL, and as a resource support to ministry initiatives in the first life/real life.

I view Second Life as an example of the immediate future of the internet, that of a 3 dimensional platform rather than the present 2D flat presentation. We as a church need to engage with this rapidly developing new platform for communication. Why?

My ideal image of the church is solid at the core and flexible at the edges… The core is our belief. The edge is the engagement with the community around us. We remain solid in what we stand for, but we are prepared to shift and change so as to appropriately interface and connect with the changing community around us.

The virtual platform is no game or passing fad, but the next step in the development of communication.

You are welcome to join me on the journey!!

Mark Brown/Arkin Ariantho

mbrownsky@hotmail.com

Author: Mark Brown

CEO of The Bible Society in New Zealand.

3 thoughts on “What a week!

  1. Reminds me of a conversation I had with a bishop in Perth years ago. Anglicans very strength is in flexibility of ideas, but still all coming together in communion.
    He used the analogy of a pendulum. Many ideas across a plain but all supported at a fixed central position. One can move positions as we mature, even change our mind completely but still be supported by that central fixed position of God’s love.

  2. Greetings Hleoduine,

    Thanks for your comment but I feel I need to clarify a fundamental assumption on your part.

    You note, ‘Well, Arkin, you have articulated the “boundary” layer of expectations.’

    Actually that was not my intention! I was simply sharing my perspective and not intending to impose it on the group some sort of charter.

    My vision is clear, to be a diverse community. Though I may not choose to be a furry, they are welcome, as are dragons or what ever shape one’s ava may take. Implicit in this is a respect for someone’s choice to role play within SL. Role players are welcome!

    How you engage with SL is your choice; I will meet you where you are… ‘solid at the core and flexible at the edges’

    Arkin/Mark

  3. Well, Arkin, you have articulated the “boundary” layer of expectations – an extension of real life rather than a role play. This is helpful. However, in Real Life, even the most “authentic” people a public “mask” or persona that varies from location to location. The “blunt” person has probably learned from experience to bite their tongue in front of retributive boss, for example. The sad thing, especially amongst religious people, is that they take themselves too seriously. And where did the old Puritan idea that “fun is sin” come into the church?

    Although married in real life, I have had serious associations with the Benedictine order for many years, making retreats to their priories and houses. Anglicanism at prayer, work, and study, is, at its heart, Benedictinism. So in the Cathedral, you or other visitors will, in fact, have to deal with at least one Christian role player wearing a Benedictine habit.

    Benedicite.

Leave a Reply

