The Anglican Cathedral of Second Life

Gettting to know our Anglican Community

2 Comments

We have some 71 members and growing! And one of the features of this blog will be getting to know so of them.

The first is Merlyn Guyot who has experienced a profound change through SL….

merlyn_001.jpgHe writes: I was confirmed in the Church of England in 1989, at the age of 36, and I love the church. Nevertheless, by 1997 I had stopped regular attendance, and joined another church grouping, and for many years I have described myself as an ‘Anglican in exile’. I was appalled at the House of Bishops for its failure to simply spell out the biblical teaching on same-sex unions, and to make clear that practising gays and lesbians, like adulterers and the promiscuous, must not be admitted to communion. I was glad that the issue had come to a head: at last, I felt, the sheep would be separated from the goats. The liberals would either see the error of their ways, or they would leave the Communion; and either way, the Church would be cleansed. May God forgive my hardness of heart! In ten short weeks Second Life has opened my eyes.

In real life I am a New Testament scholar. My research the last sixteen years has focused on the church in Corinth, with its divisions and its sexual immorality. I had seen very clearly that a church that tolerates sexual immorality, whether it be adultery or same-sex relationships, defiles itself and becomes broken. However, in recent months, thanks to my research student Keith Krell, I finally saw the other side of the coin: schism causes defilement too. I think the authors of the Windsor report saw this very clearly, and I hope that the Windsor process will eventually unify us. But if that process is to work, we must first meet, understand and love one another. In SL we have an incredible opportunity: to meet one another without masks, to become friends, to face the issues together and engage one another with integrity and respect.

Even though it is still under construction, through the Cathedral I have come to know and love and understand people whose views are diametrically opposed to my own. The Cathedral will offer this opportunity to Anglicans everywhere, and I would like to see our liturgical and other ministries carefully structured to reflect and celebrate our spiritual unity. For whatever our reservations about one another’s theology we are, we must be one in Christ, a holy temple for the Lord.

Merlyn Guyot

Author: Mark Brown

CEO of The Bible Society in New Zealand.

2 thoughts on “Gettting to know our Anglican Community

  1. Thank you for your candid follow-up. It was just exactly what I needed to see this morning. Your posting here has blessed me greatly…His Love endures forever, and His mercies are new every morning. Thank you.

  2. I wish to add that I now believe that we should behave towards one another, and towards the wider community of SL, with the same principles of conduct that apply in RL. I no longer believe we can maintain that SL is a different, parallel world with its own rules: sin remains sin, and our actions here either reinforce or contradict the message we have been given to proclaim, just in RL. Central to that message is the holiness of God – if there were no Judgment, there would be no need of a Savior. My own actins here have clearly given offence to my God, and muddied and contradicted the lcear message of the Gospel, wihich I have also soughtt to deliver. For this I am deeply sorry, and deeply grateful for my Savior who died form me that I should not pay the eternal price for my sin.

Leave a Reply

