The Anglican Cathedral of Second Life

Researching The Cathedral

4 Comments

Hi everyone! My SL name is Moz Barthelmess, and my real name is Tim Hutchings. I’m a PhD student in the department of Theology and Religion at Durham University in the UK, and I thought I would let you know about some research I’m doing in Second Life.

My PhD research looks at four online churches. One of those four churches is the Cathedral, and I’ll be researching Epiphany Island this month. My research is theological, but I need a good understanding of exactly what happens at each church and why – so my first step is to spend as much time as possible with the congregation.

Starting on Monday 9th June, I’ll be spending time on the island, talking to visitors and church-goers and attending services and events. So if you see me, say hello!

One important concern with any research is ethics. My policy is pretty simple – if I want to quote anything you say, ever, I’ll ask your permission for the specific quote I want to use. If you don’t say yes, the quote doesn’t get used. Usernames and real names of congregation members won’t appear in the final thesis (church leaders and academics may be a special case).

I met Mark and a few other SL Anglicans at the Guildford conference recently, and I’m looking forward to getting to know the rest of you much better. If you have any questions, any landmarks for me to visit, or any experiences to share, just send me an IM.

Best wishes,

Moz Barthelmess/Tim Hutchings

Author: Mark Brown

CEO of The Bible Society in New Zealand.

4 thoughts on “Researching The Cathedral

  1. Pingback: Reminder: Research Project on the Anglican Cathedral « The Anglican Church in Second Life

  2. Hi Tim,

    This sounds like a most fascinating PhD I look forward to hearing more about it.

    Stephen

    From South Australia.

  3. If I meet you Moz feel free to ask away although I am new so won’t have much to say.

  4. For the purposes of your research, Tim, I have absolutely no objection to you quoting anything I say or attributing my name(s) to it. Good luck with it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers